Sigh of Relief

I went to my massage therapist for my post marathon massage and told her about quad and hip issues. Before we started the massage, she had me do a number of muscle tests on my legs. It turns out that my left rectus femoris (central quad muscle) is not working properly and probably fatigued from my multiple marathons. Then my adductors are over compensating causing my left hip and quad to hurt when I run. Like I said in a previous post, yoga has helped me with my leg and after my massage, my therapist told me to roll the inside of my inner thigh and do leg lifts a couple times a day especially before I go out on a run. Luckily I don’t have any major knee issues and I think it’s attributed to all my strength training – yoga, barre, and NTC classes.

I plan to go to yoga and go on a 3 mile run tomorrow (double workout day!) and then a 5 miler with the NTC crew on Saturday. I haven’t decided if I’m running on Friday or going to yoga. Leaning towards yoga.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sigh of Relief

  1. I need to go to yoga too. I should be able to after my half marathon in Las Vegas.

    • rhodag says:

      Yoga has been great. Not only I feel relaxed, but I can feel myself getting stronger and more flexible. Maybe we can meet up some time. Zen Yoga Garage has free community class at 1:30 pm on Saturdays and Sundays.

Leave a comment